Return to About

Board Members & Honorary Advisory Council

Treasurer: Pam Campbell

Pam Campbell has two hearing-impaired children and is a co-founder of the Central Speech & Hearing Clinic, a clinic that teaches deaf children how to speak. She has sat on the Board since the Clinic’s inception in 1989 as the Treasurer and Acting Chair. Most recently she has resigned her position on the Board to act as Executive Director of the Clinic.
Pam received her Teaching Certification from Brandon University, taught for three years and then worked in various positions in the Provincial Government. Later, she returned to school and received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology.
Pam has served on several Boards including the Board of Artists in Healthcare, the Central Speech & Hearing Clinic, the Manitoba Advisory Board to the Minister of Education for deaf and hard of hearing children, the Committee of Specialized Services for Children and Youth, the Association of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children of Manitoba.

Past Chair: Tom Carson

Tom was a consultant focusing on personal and team development and workplace health he had over 31 years senior management and executive experience with the Manitoba Government, starting with the Management Committee of Cabinet, through Northern Affairs, to Deputy Minister postings in the departments of Culture, Training and Continuing Education and Health. He served as a Deputy Minister for 14 years. When moving to the private sector he had focused on workplace health, team development, and organisational analysis and policy development. He served on the following boards: The Winnipeg Art Gallery Foundation, The Canadian Council for Early Child Development, The Arts and Cultural Industries Association of Manitoba, Leadership Winnipeg, The President’s Advisory Council (to the President of the University of Manitoba), and the Health, Leisure and Human Performance Institute at the University of Manitoba. He brings to the board experience in policy and research, nonprofit board administration, Government policy, nonprofit planning and management analysis.

Dan Donahue

An experienced performer, producer, consultant, sound engineer and composer, Dan has over 25 year’s involvement in the music industry. He has been a board member with numerous provincial and international organizations including the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, MARIA, the Winnipeg Musicians Association, The Western Canada Aviation Museum and the Pan Am Games. He provides the board with his entrepreneurial spirit, significant experience with nonprofit organizations and his longstanding connections with the recording industry (evidenced by recording over 200 albums, providing film scores for numerous production companies and providing services as a music consultant/composer).

Acting Chair: Jennifer Dubienski

Jennifer Dubienski was born and raised in Winnipeg, stayed in Winnipeg, and is married with 4 children. She spent forty years in the field of education, first as a teacher, then as a guidance counsellor. Jennifer is recently retired from the Pembina Trails School Division. She has served on the board of The Children’s Home of Winnipeg, The Winnipeg Football Club (Blue Bombers), The Charleswood Art Group, and recently joined the Board of New Horizons and Artists in Healthcare Manitoba. Jennifer is co-owner of the Wahsa Gallery at the Forks. She enjoys living in Charleswood, her family and working in glass. Jennifer is a true artist in her own right.

Charles  LaFleche

Experienced Senior Executive and equity owner in an international philanthropy consulting firm. Founded and led a number of companies in the technology, healthcare and philanthropy sectors. Skilled in Strategy, Business Development, Strategic Sales, Planning, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Accounting, Capital Fund Raising, Team Building, and Public Speaking. Strong professional and a Fellow of the Chartered Professional Accountants (FCPA) of Canada.

Shirley Grierson: Executive Director

Currently Executive Director for Artists in Healthcare, Shirley has over 30 years experience in Winnipeg’s Arts and Culture Sector. She created the first Winnipeg Jazz Festival in 1980 while studying Creative Communications. Shirley was Company Pianist with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet for 5 years, and subsequently spent over two decades improvising music for Winnipeg’s modern dance community and composing for dance and independent film. She worked with the Learning Through the Arts and Artsmarts programs, teaching curriculum through music for five years. In 2004 Shirley designed Artists in Healthcare’s Music to My Ears Program for Cancercare Manitoba. Ms. Grierson is passionate about Winnipeg’s community arts organizations and was part of the “Save the Gas Station Theatre Movement” and continues to serve as Secretary to the new Gas Station Theatre Arts Centre Board. In 2008 she composed the score for the award winning independent film “Night Travellers”. A more recent highlight was when the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra performed her work for 6 cellists at the 2010 The Concert; A Celebration of Culture. Shirley lives in Winnipeg and is married with 3 sons.

Honourary Advisory Council

Dee Buchwald

Ken Campbell

Sylvia Kuzak

Randy Moffat

Dr. Brian Postl

Dr. Merril Pauls

Advisory Committee

  • Dr. Merril Pauls
  • Dr. Glen McAbe
  • Sylvia Kuzyk
  • Barry D. McArton